Free shipping on all domestic orders - FREE Returns

Meet Melissa Laylle, born in Guatemala, now living her best life in BC, Canada. When she’s not riding her bike, you can still find her playing in the mountains, or working remotely on architecture and interior design. It sounds like Melissa has the work/bike life down to a tee - find out more below.

How long have you been mountain biking? How did you get into it?

I started riding bikes with my dad and brother at 11 y/o. Then 4 years later I had an exposed ankle fracture that took me 6 months to heal. I stopped biking for a while. I got back into Mtb in 2014 and decided to race DH right after I finished University in 2015.

What does a typical day look like for you?

A typical day for me would be... Coffee first, then putting in my contact lenses cause I am very blind without them! I’ll walk my dog, Juno, do some work, ride my bike or go to the gym (depending on the season), do more work, walk Juno again, prepare some bad food (I am terrible in the kitchen haha), and then get myself ready for bed with a nice cup of tea or a beer :)

What's been your worst crash over the years?

When I did a hip drop, I landed sideways and was thrown over the handlebar (OTB) to land on my head. knock myself out for a couple of minutes. Still don't remember what happened or how I got out of the mountain. Definitely lost some screws on that crash :P

Favourite place to ride in British Columbia?

Fav place to ride in BC: This is a hard one! I have a few: North van, Squamish, Whistler, and Mount 7.

What is your go-to piece of riding kit?

I can’t choose just one… so here’s three! The Traverse ride pants, Lomond long sleeve, and Capsize socks :)

What barrier breaker moment are you most proud of?

When I first joined a DH race in Guatemala and was the only woman!! It was empowering!

Do you have a favourite motto or saying?

Life is short, don't take it too seriously.